Poetry: Melody of Being Animate

06.02.17
Ex ghosts (..lost heart beats.)

“..dear ghost, this is an open gratitude of I know how this works, you can pretend all you want but I want you to know that when you try n come back this pulse will already have vanished, I want you to know that I don’t forget dishonest too often much like the time you we watched a new day rise before our first, I didn’t want to let you go, sometimes I am afraid of what it really means to feel heart beats, do you remember how we spent that night, how you left trails of your lips to this heart beat, how we talked about the past n formed invisible connections, tell me, do you not feel anything, was I delusional this whole time, tell me, tell me, did you not feel it too, the way we laughed n smiled together I could feel my heart beat so fast couldn’t believe how easy it was to care for someone so easily didn’t know that connections could be formed so beautifully, did you not feel it too, dear ghost, its 10 at night n you can not come back into my life, fling or not ghosting leaves no room for answered you can not come back into my life, dear ghost, I hold crowns too high to be ignored over meaningless narrative, you’re not worth this body, these lips, these hands, this feeling, you’re not allowed to come n play here anymore, dear ghost, do what you do best, disappear, n this time never come back.”

Leave a Reply

