Garden of Words Anime, RAW: Melody of Being Animate

22.5.17
Garden of words (RAW)

“..you speak to me so gently, like you’re touching something fragile, I’ve never told anyone this before, about a lot of things, do you think its too late for me?-, I wish the rainy season had never ended, I’ve always been here, stuck in the same place, its okay, we’re all human, we’ve all got our little quirks-. Him, I think this might, this might be, her, the happiest, them, time of my life-, him, I think I’ve fallen in love with you, her, together with you, in this garden of words..”

A TANKA: Garden of Words (Japanese Literature)

Narukami no sukoshi toyomite (A faint clap of thunder), sashi kumori (Clouded skies), Ame mo furanu ka? (Perhaps rain comes), Kimi wo todomemu (If so, will you stay here with me?), Narukami no sukoshi toyomite (A faint clap of thunder), furazu to mo (Even if rain comes not), warewa tomaramu (I will stay here), imoshi todomeba (Together with you).

なるかみの, すこしとよみて,
A faint clap of thunder,
さしくもり,
Clouded skies,
あめもふらぬか,
Perhaps rain will come.
きみをとどめむ?
If so, will you stay here with me?

なるかみの, すこしとよみて,
A faint clap of thunder,
ふらずとも,
Even if rain comes or not,
わはとどまらむ,
I will stay here,
いもしとどめば。
Together with you.

– Man’yōshū vol. 11, verse 2514 – 2513,
from the movie The Garden of Words –

Leave a Reply

