Melody of being animate: Poetry

4:44 what I saw. | 30.08.2023

I hear you, loud and clear, you watching the tree’s talk to each other and blame it on the wind, its fine this way you think standing feet rooted to the door step of your home you take a deep breath, –knock knock.– Come in, and kindly leave your shoes by the door in this household we like to feel again, come in, respectfully gage my attention I have been known to follow my heart the days talk, come in, and let’s talk about why gardens are metaphors for ours this one is for bodies that feel their souls as they succeed themselves, –come in, leave your mask in that fish tank you won’t be needing it here. This home has been known to challenge what you think you already understand.– I hear you loud and clear, knock knock, the door opens and it’s her, the one who we do this for she is here, I walk over to her she must be scared, she tumbles in grabbing at my finger they talk about roses out there but they leave the part out about the thorns, -she ask’s us why do they leave the thorns out, don’t they see that without it there isn’t, don’t they see how delicate we hold them so close to our bodies-, we all take a deep breath as we do our best to keep her safe and ready for the first world.

My heart, we have been here so long sometimes we forget that there have been others even before her, I hold her right hand and we walk towards her eyes, look at the beautiful garden we have created with everything we have accomplished I know that we want so badly to be seen it could turn tears into oceans, -the mind has a ways about her eyes I think to myself-, I can’t help but wonder about the ways we have spent of us pouring, pouring, pouring, pouring until you have to learn when to stop and look at what is in front of you, I tell her never mind because I don’t want her thinking more than she already does it has a way of making it heavy, -the mind cups her left hand guiding her through the garden she has grown for herself- I want everyone to see the good things take time, they whether faster then they grow you’ll see, as we are walking we stumble upon mind’s memories thinking about how we learnt to let go of parts of us that thought to keep us safe rather kept us hidden, -they don’t talk about how we are all learning to survive ourselves then live- my heart, I’ve been wondering why you think this way of the first world, this world has taught more than ourselves and what we are willing to do to keep our justice, it has taught us how to love harder even when we are being screamed at why do you do this to yourself, it has given us purpose to live in our truth if we surrender to our choices, I’ve heard how they make fun of peoples homes these people are learning how to survive their homes, we get to choose how our choices unfold it teaches us language such as mauwa ya akili the art reads flowers for the mind already we hear the waves of memories and feelings it streams, -we laugh together take a deep breath as we take time to be present again, doing our best to keep her safe and ready for her first world.-

Leave a comment